Fund Jayme’s Journey To Become A Dad

Alpharetta, GA (US)
|
Created 1 year ago
|
Fertility Treatments

Fund Jayme’s Journey To Become A Dad

by Jayme McCauley

Rated 0 out of 5
  • $35,000.00

    Fundraiser Goal
  • $0.00

    Funds Raised
  • 359

    Days to go
$0.00 raised of $35,000.00 Goal
Minimum amount is $ Maximum amount is $ Put a valid number
$
Alpharetta, GA (US)

Jayme McCauley is organizing this fundraiser.

Campaign Story

Hi, my name is Jayme. I am 30 years old, I am nonbinary & transmasculine, and my life’s dream has always been to be a dad and nurture a happy family. From a young age, I always looked up to my dad. I would follow him around in the mornings and closely watch everything he did as a kid. I liked the way he made coffee and peanut butter toast he’d share with me in the mornings. I admired him as he woke up at 5am, pulled his long socks up and tied his shoes before heading out the door to make the long drive to work. I was grateful that he would invest his time and energy into making me great at whatever season of sport I was into at the time. Whether it was tossing a ball in the yard, playing one-on-one at the hoop at the neighborhood clubhouse, or the long drives to the many golf tournaments he’d sign me up for, he was always there to push me to be my best. My dad shared his love for music with me and taught me how to play guitar. In the evenings, we’d go for a walk around the neighborhood, and I would enjoy doubling my steps and lengthening my stride to match his pace and then racing to the front door once we got to the mailbox. My dad was my best friend. Though my dad and I may not see eye-to-eye today, I am still grateful for the way he raised me, the memories we shared, and I continue to admire the loving dad he was to me and that I aspire to be one day.

I hope with your donation that I will be able to achieve my dream of fatherhood in the next two to three years and officially upgrade my title from proud Auncle to Dad/Baba. Being assigned female at birth, discovering my transgender identity and undergoing top surgery and hormone replacement therapy for over the last five to six years, it has weighed on me that I wouldn’t be able to provide the convenience of being able to easily conceive a child with my future partner. It has also weighed on me thinking that I may not be able to ever experience or witness bringing a life into this world as both my sisters and so many of my peers have. My desire is to undergo the fertility treatment of Reciprocal IVF (In Vitro Fertilization), where my eggs would be retrieved, fertilized by donor sperm, and the viable embryos implanted into my partner’s uterus or my own to carry to term. I am also interested in the possibility of my potential cisgender female partner undergoing the egg retrieval process as well and freezing her eggs to eventually be implanted in my uterus a few months into her pregnancy with my egg so she could potentially breastfeed both babies, and we would both be biologically connected to them. I understand this would all be a long shot as one cycle of reciprocal IVF averages $20,000 with the donor sperm fees, as well as associated legal fees. So multiply that by two for potentially two cycles, or one for me and one for my future partner.

For now, given my circumstances and my biological clock ticking, I think the most important thing for me to do in order to accomplish my dream would be to start the process of coming off HRT to then start the process of prepping for egg retrieval and freezing them for future use. The average cost for this process which would include one year of egg freezing, is $16,000. Storage for my frozen eggs would be $500 per year thereafter. I humbly ask for your help with this financial undertaking, as I once had in the past with my GoFundMe for my top surgery back in 2016. With your kind donations, I was able to cover $1,385 of my $10,000 surgery in May of 2016. Fortunately, I was able to pay off this debt soon thereafter, but with that financial burden in my early adulthood, paired with my continued effort to pay off my student loans, my year of unemployment after returning from the Peace Corps due to the pandemic while caring for my grandmother with dementia and my dog’s seizure medical care, I don’t have the capacity to take on this size of a financial undertaking for this time-sensitive medical procedure to preserve my fertility alone. I hope you will support me with starting this process in hopes of making my dream of starting a family a reality. Thank you!